For our fourth journal, The Cuddy Family Foundation for Veterans is teaming with our partners at The Military Writers Society of America (MWSA) for a creative contest that is open to veterans only!

The veteran writer whose poem or short story is selected as the best submission will win roundtrip airfare and hotel accommodations for the MWSA's General Membership Conference & Awards Banquet set for New Orleans (August 25-27). 

We are extremely excited to team with the MWSA to provide this opportunity for a veteran and expect a large pool of contributors, so please be aware of our submission guidelines that are listed below. The conference is going to be an incredible event and, with The Higgins Hotel as the host, our winner will be close to The National WWII Museum and all of the fantastic eateries that have made NOLA legendary (our advice is to leave your calorie concerns at home).

Included in the prize package is an attendee badge for the conference, too!

Here are the contest guidelines:

The deadline for submissions is June 1, 2022.

Submissions should be sent in the body of an email to this address:

Do not submit your poem or short story through the Contact page on our website.


No attachments, please.

The short story word count total is 5,000 words or less. 

All submissions should be original works that have not been previously published.

Please include your full name, mailing address, phone number, branch of service, and any relevant social media or author links in the email with your submission. 

It is very important that these guidelines are followed. Submissions will not be considered valid if they are sent via our Contact page, or as email attachments, or worse yet via snail mail!

Thank you.

Note: We would like to thank our friend Valerie Ormond (Veteran, USN) of Veteran Writing Services for introducing us to Jim Greenwald and Bob Doerr of the MWSA.